The white, gray and black areas refer to fiber optic-based broadband connectivity coverage. Black areas are densely populated areas with at least two ultra-broadband network service providers; the grey areas have only one network operator and poor investment prospects within the three years following mapping, finally the white areas lack infrastructure and require state financial interventions.

This distinction was introduced by the European Commission (Guidelines 2013/C 25/011) in 2013 on the basis of private investments expected in ultra-broadband networks. There is a map on the site of the Ultrawide Band Strategic Plan which shows the status of work in Italy, with the possibility of carrying out a search for your geographical area of ​​interest.

Investments in broadband networks in white and gray areas are essential for fight the digital divide and grant everyone free access to digital services . In this sense, the institutions have adopted various plans, including the "1 Giga Italy" intervention plan, dedicated to the gray areas for which an investment of approximately 3.7 billion of PNRR funds has been envisaged across the entire Italian territory.

White areas

The white areas are the areas where there is no broadband network coverage. In these areas, it is not possible to access a high-speed Internet connection via fiber optics, because no operator has shown interest in investing.

White areas can be rural regions, remote communities or areas that are less developed in terms of telecommunications infrastructure. In these places, connectivity is limited to more obsolete technologies such as ADSL or cable connections.

Large national ultra-broadband project - White areas

On 3 April 2019, the European Commission definitively approved the "large national ultra-broadband project - White areas2" part of the "National Plan for ultra-broadband", which provides for public intervention to invest in the national territory, distinguishing between "white", "grey" and "white" areas. and "black".

The Plan develops in two phases. The first phase concerns the measures for the infrastructure of the white areas, which are currently being implemented by Open Fiber S.p.A., the selected concessionaire. The second phase involves the development of ultra-fast networks in the gray and black areas of the country.

Grey areas

The gray areas are areas where broadband connectivity coverage via fiber optics is partial or limited. In these areas, there may be partial availability of fiber optic connections, but not yet extended to all homes or businesses in the area. In these areas there is only one network operator and it is unlikely that there will be further investments in the three years following the mapping.

Grey areas may include specific neighborhoods, streets or blocks that may not yet be connected to the fiber optic network, despite the presence of nearby infrastructure. These areas may be characterized by a lack of investment or technical problems that prevent complete coverage.


Black areas

The black areas are the areas completely covered by broadband connectivity via fiber optics. In these areas, high-speed Internet connection through fiber optics is widely available to homes and businesses. In addition to the infrastructure, there are at least two different suppliers.

The black areas are characterized by a complete fiber optic infrastructure, which allows us to offer fast, reliable and stable connectivity. Usually, these areas are located in urban areas or with high population density.

Living in a black area offers numerous advantages, including faster connection speeds, better quality of online services and the ability to use applications and services that require high bandwidth.

You can consult our article to find out how check Enel Energia's fiber coverage. We remind you that you have the possibility to choose between two Enel Energia Fiber offers: if your area is covered by FTTH technology (fiber to the home) , you can opt for the Enel Fibra offer. This allows you to reach speeds of up to 1 Gbps download and 300 Mbps upload. However, if your area is reached by FTTC (fiber to the cabinet) technology, you can choose the Enel Naviga Smart offer, which offers speeds of up to 300 Mbps in download and 20 Mbps in upload.

Internet for your home

Navigate with Enel Energia fiber

Discover Enel Fibra FTTH, the stable and fast integrated connection that brings you closer to the world and to people

Enel Fibra

Navigate with the simplicity of Enel Energia's ultra-fast FTTH fiber up to 1 Gigabit/s download plus

Free activation
WiFi modem 6 included

Offer subject to technical speed and geographical limitations. The indicated navigation speed (FTTH) is to be considered as maximum. Check the coverage in the following steps to find out the fiber (FTTH and FTTC) from which your home is reached. The offer does not include Voice Service with consequent possible loss of the landline telephone number in the event of migration of the internet connection. If you are already an Enel Energia customer, fiber service available starting from €21.90/month for the first 12 months.