The (electrical) bonus for physical discomfort is a benefit aimed at reducing the expense incurred for the supply of electricity to families in which there is a member (owner of the supply or cohabitant) who is in conditions of physical discomfort, for who are forced to use electro-medical equipment necessary to keep them alive, which involves a high consumption of electricity.

The amount of the social bonus for physical discomfort is applied directly to the electricity bill.

The social bonus for physical discomfort does not have to be renewed, but is paid until the use of electro-medical equipment ceases.

The social bonus is paid both to customers who have signed up to an offer on the free market and to those served under greater protection and is automatically recognized even in the event of a supplier change.

How to get the bonus for physical hardship: the requirements

All domestic customers suffering from a serious illness or domestic customers with an electricity supply in which a person suffering from a serious illness lives, requiring the use of electro-medical equipment to maintain life, can obtain the bonus.

The list of life-saving electro-medical equipment which gives the right to the social bonus for physical discomfort is identified by the Decree of the Ministry of Health of 13 January 2011.

The social bonus for physical hardship can be combined with that for economic hardship if the respective eligibility requirements are met.

How to obtain the bonus for physical discomfort: the documents

To access the bonus for physical discomfort, it is necessary to submit a request to the Municipality of residence by the owner of the electricity supply (even if different from the patient) or to the bodies designated by the Municipality, such as the authorized CAF , Mountain communities. The benefit is not linked to the ISEE and its amount depends on the annual consumption of the life-saving machinery used.

To forward the request the customer must present:

  • the B form signed;
  • the identity document and tax code of the applicant and of the patient if different from the applicant;
  • attach an ASL certificate which certifies:
    • the situation of a serious health condition; 
    • the need to use electro-medical equipment for life support; 
    • the type of equipment used and the hours of daily use; 
    • the address where the equipment is installed.

To request the bonus for physical discomfort, it is not possible to use other forms of certification of disabling situations, such as civil disability certificates.

Furthermore, it is not necessary to present to Enel Energia any medical certification certifying the need to use life-saving machinery, in fact the same must be attached to the appropriate form B to be presented to the Municipality or to the authorized CAFs.

Visit the page dedicated to Social Bonus on the ARERA website for have more information.