Power social bonus, what changes from 2021

All the innovations introduced from 1st January 2021

What is the power social bonus? 

The power social bonus is a discount on the bill, provided by the Government and made operational by the Regulatory Authority for Energy, Networks and the Environment, to ensure savings on energy expenditure for families in conditions of economic and physical hardship.
For the supply of power there are two types of social bonus: the Social Bonus for economic hardship and that for physical hardship (Serious health conditions). For those who are entitled to the bonus for economic hardship starting from 2021, the recognition in the bill will take place automatically, without the need to submit a specific application to the Municipality or the body designated by it.

The news of the 2021 Social Bonus

The main novelty of this year is the automatism of the bonus for economic hardship.

From 1 January 2021, as required by the decree law 26 October 2019 n. 124, converted with amendments by law 19 December 2019, n. 157, to obtain the social bonus for economic hardship it will be sufficient to present each year the Single Substitute Declaration (DSU to be presented to the Municipality, CAF, site INPS, etc.), in order to certify the income situation (ISEE).

The Single Substitute Declaration presented to access the subsidized social bonuses (school canteen, maternity allowance, baby bonus, etc.), will also allow automatic access to the social bonus for economic hardship or, if the conditions exist.

The new method for the disbursement of the bonus for economic hardship will be operational according to the timing provided for by the ARERA resolution no.63/21 starting from the second half of the 2021 and any amounts already accrued relating to the previous months of the year will also be recognized, credited to the bill.

Municipalities and CAFs can no longer accept specific applications for obtaining the bonus for economic hardship and those that may be submitted will not be valid for the recognition.

Nothing changes for the modalities of access to the bonus for physical discomfort which will continue to be on request to be submitted to the Municipality of residence or body designated by it.

How to get the 2021 Power Social Bonus: the requirements

To obtain the Power Social Bonus for economic hardship, you must belong to:

  • a household with an ISEE indicator not exceeding 8,265 euros
  • a family unit with at least 4 dependent children (large family) and an ISEE indicator not exceeding 20,000 euros
  • a household with "Reddito di Cittadinanza" or "Pensione di Cittadinanza".

In the presence of the income requirements, INPS will send the data of the family unit to the Integrated Information System (SII *).

The SII will play a central role:

  • will acquire the information from INPS, will identify the supplies to be facilitated and will communicate it to sellers and distributors of power and gas, indicating the period of validity of the facility.

* Integrated Information System (SII) managed by the Single Buyer company. The SII is a computer database that contains information useful for identifying power and gas supplies.

Each family unit is entitled to only one bonus per type - power, gas, water - per year of competence.

If a person in serious health who qualifies for the bonus for physical discomfort lives in the home, the family can also apply for this bonus.

How to get the 2021 Power Social Bonus for Physical Hardship

Nothing has changed regarding the Power Social Bonus for physical hardship. All domestic customers suffering from serious illness or domestic customers with power supply where a person suffering from serious illness lives, forced to use electromedical equipment necessary for keeping them alive, can obtain the power bonus for physical hardship.

The life-saving electromedical equipment that gives the right to the power social bonus was identified by the Decree of the Ministry of Health of 13 January 2011. The bonus for physical hardship can be combined with that for economic hardship, if the respective eligibility requirements are met.